"It's my belief, that inside of us lies a little piece of Heaven in Disguise"

The Joshua Simon Album

I’ve been writing on my acoustic album for about 2 years now.
It was supposed to be 10 original tracks all mellowed down raw and simple for easy-listening.
Ever since I hooked up with my producer, the very talented Shorya Sharma, we’ve been working on dance music.
Really really good dance music.
The kinda dance music that was set out to make dance crews all around the world go crazy with choreography.
The kinda dance music that once played by a DJ in a club, girls will squeal and guys will get ready to drop some moves.
The kinda dance music that inspired me to smile and moonwalk instead of merewalking.
The kinda dance music that we so badly need now.
I’ve scrapped the acoustic album idea, and we’re now making the ultimate…album.
15 tracks now, with the original acoustic songs morphed into pop engineered tracks.
The album will be the most diverse piece of pop material you’ll ever hear.
Just like my taste in music, it will have rock influences, trip pop influences, hip hop & R&B influences, electronica influences, rap influences, new age influences, chamber music influences, world music influences, a whole ton of entertainment references…this will be the ultimate pop record.
And we’re making all this happen in a small district in Bukit Panjang, Singapore.

My producer lives across my house, the recording studio is in his room.
My manager lives behind my house, so he moderates the sessions.
My bestfriends contour my house, so they’re my critics.
My inspiration is in my house.
Give me sometime, and I will change this world.
Give me sometime and I will open the door for musicians in Asia, more importantly, Singapore.

Why not just go overseas Joshua?
Because I’ve got some unfinished business with Singapore.
I’m not gonna just leave and let the future generations of kids like me amount to nothing.
I fought and fight hard everyday against the ‘you cant make it’ demons from our own Singaporeans and their mindsets.
I’m not gonna leave Singapore till some doors are broken and nailed to the concrete.

If you can’t wait for the album.
Know that I’ve waited years for it too.
June 2011
You’ll remember this blogpost.

Leave a Reply

